Plasma and Fusion Research

Volume 16, 1402096 (2021)

Regular Articles

Development of a Fast Visible Light Measurement System for the Study of Ion Cyclotron Range of Frequency Waves in GAMMA 10/PDX Plasmas
Akira EJIRI, Mafumi HIRATA1), Makoto ICHIMURA1), Masayuki YOSHIKAWA1), Ryuya IKEZOE2) and Shuji KAMIO3)
The University of Tokyo, Kashiwa 277-8561, Japan
University of Tsukuba, Tsukuba 305-8577, Japan
Kyushu University, Kasuga 816-8580, Japan
National Institute for Fusion Science, Toki 509-5292, Japan
(Received 16 July 2021 / Accepted 22 August 2021 / Published 17 September 2021)


A fast visible light measurement system was installed on GAMMA 10/PDX to measure plasma light fluctuations induced by ion cyclotron range of frequency (ICRF) (6360 kHz) waves. Time evolution and power spectrum were obtained and the relative amplitude of the fluctuations was the order of 0.1%. The difference of measured wavelength region was investigated by using three interference filters, but obtained time evolutions and the relative amplitudes were similar when we neglect a factor of difference. The RF pick-up noise is about two orders of magnitude smaller than the ICRF wave induced plasma signal, and the broad frequency band component is about an order of magnitude smaller than the signal. The latter arises from the shot-noise of the photon detection Poisson process, and an expression of the shot-noise, in which the effects of the frequency response of the system and the detector property are included, was obtained. The expression is confirmed experimentally using a stable light source.


visible light measurement, ICRF, RF measurement, mirror device, Poisson process

DOI: 10.1585/pfr.16.1402096


  • [1] H. Hojo, A. Mase, R. Katsumata, M. Inutake, A. Itakura and M. Ichimura, Jpn. J. Appl. Phys. 32, 3287 (1993).
  • [2] A. Ejiri, T. Tokuzawa, N. Tsujii, K. Saito, T. Seki, H. Kasahara et al., J. Instrumentation 10, C12032 (2015).
  • [3] J.H. Lee, E.J. Doyle, N.C. Luhmann Jr, W.A. Peebles, C.C. Petty, R. Pinsker and T.L. Rhodes, Rev. Sci. Instrum. 68, 462 (1997).
  • [4] J.H. Lee, W.A. Peebles, E.F. Jaeger, E.J. Doyle, N.C. Luhmann Jr, C.C. Petty, R. Pinsker, R. Prater and T.L. Rhodes, Phys. Rev. Lett. 80, 2330 (1998).
  • [5] A. Mase, T. Tokuzawa, N. Oyama, Y. Ito, A. Itakura, H. Hojo, M. Ichimura, M. Inutake and T. Tamano, Rev. Sci. Instrum. 66, 821 (1995).
  • [6] R. Ikezoe, M. Ichimura, T. Okada, J. Itagaki, M. Hirata, S. Sumida et al., Rev. Sci. Instrum. 88, 033504 (2017).
  • [7] T. Yamada, A. Ejiri, Y. Shimada, T. Oosako, J. Tsujimura, Y. Takase and H. Kasahara, Rev. Sci. Instrum. 78, 083502 (2007).
  • [8] T. Oosako, Y. Takase, A. Ejiri, Y. Nagashima, Y. Adachi, H. Kasahara et al., Nucl. Fusion 49, 065020 (2009).
  • [9] A. Ejiri, T. Tokuzawa, K. Saito, T. Seki, H. Kasahara, T. Mutoh, R. Kumazawa, I. Yamada and Y. Takase, in Proceedings of the 12th Asia Pacific Physics Conference (APPC12) (JPS Conf. Proc. 1), 015038 (2014).
  • [10] C.C. Klepper, R.C. Isler, J. Hillairet, E.H. Martin, L. Colas, A. Ekedahl et al., Phys. Rev. Lett. 110, 215005 (2013).
  • [11] E.H. Martin, M. Goniche, C.C. Klepper, J. Hillairet, R.C. Isler, C. Bottereau et al., Plasma Phys. Control. Fusion 57, 065011 (2015).
  • [12] E.H. Martin, C. Lau, M. Brookman and J. Lohr, Rev. Sci. Instrum. 89, 10D117 (2018).
  • [13] Y. Torii, A. Ejiri, T. Masuda, T. Oosako, M. Sasaki, H. Tojo et al., Plasma Fusion Res. 2, 023 (2007).
  • [14] Y. Adachi, A. Ejiri, Y. Takase, O. Watanabe, T. Oosako, H. Tojo et al., Rev. Sci. Instrum. 79, 10F507 (2008).
  • [15] R. Ke, Y.F. Wu, G.R. McKee, Z. Yan, K. Jaehnig et al., Rev. Sci. Instrum. 89, 10D122 (2018).
  • [16] H. Higaki, M. Ichimura, K. Horinouchi, K. Nakagome, S. Kakimoto, Y. Yamaguchi et al., Rev. Sci. Instrum. 75, 4085 (2004).
  • [17] R. Ikezoe, M. Ichimura, J. Itagaki, M. Hirata, S. Sumida, S. Jang et al., J. Instrumentation 12, C12017 (2017).
  • [18] R. Ikezoe, M. Ichimura, J. Itagaki, M. Hirata, S. Sumida, S. Jang et al., AIP Conf. Proc. 1771, 050002 (2016).
  • [19] M. Yoshikawa, R. Ikezoe, K. Ohta, X. Wang, J. Kohagura et al., Plasma Fusion Res. 11, 2402051 (2016).
  • [20] A. Ejiri, T. Oikawa and H. Toyama, Rev. Sci. Instrum. 66, 4600 (1995).
  • [21] A. Ejiri, T. Yamaguchi, J. Hiratsuka, Y. Takase, M. Hasegawa and K. Narihara, Plasma Fusion Res. 5, S2082 (2010).