Plasma and Fusion Research

Volume 15, 2402020 (2020)

Regular Articles

Evaluation of Translation Velocity Control by Auxiliary Coils for the Collisional Merging Formation of FRCs by 2-D Resistive MHD Simulation
Daichi KOBAYASHI, Tomohiko ASAI, Tsutomu TAKAHASHI, Junichi SEKIGUCHI, Hiroshi GOTA1), Sean DETTRICK1), Yung MOK1), Michl BINDERBAUER1) and Toshiki TAJIMA1,2)
College of Science and Technology, Nihon University, Tokyo 101-8308, Japan
TAE Technologies, Inc., Foothill Ranch, CA 92610, USA
Department of Physics and Astronomy, University of California at Irvine, Irvine, CA 92697, USA
(Received 29 November 2019 / Accepted 20 February 2020 / Published 14 April 2020)


Previously, the collisional merging formation of FRCs has been developed to generate high performance FRCs. A drastic increase in the excluded flux and total temperature were observed in the FRCs generated with this technique; furthermore, these phenomena strongly depend on the translation velocity of individual plasmoids. However, the dependence of the merged-FRC performance on the translation velocity has not been studied in detail. To study the dependence, the effect of installed auxiliary coils on the formation region on the translation velocity of FRCs in the FAT-CM device has been evaluated by the simulation with a two-dimensional resistive magnetohydrodynamics code, which is called Lamy Ridge. The control of translation velocity by using the auxiliary coils has beenwas demonstrated on the order of several tens of km/s in the simulation. The trapped poloidal flux and the total temperature of simulated FRCs have increased depending on the translation velocity.


magnetically confined plasma, field-reversed configuration, high beta plasma, FRC merging, resistive MHD simulation

DOI: 10.1585/pfr.15.2402020


  • [1] M. Tuszewski, Nucl. Fusion 28, 2033 (1988).
  • [2] L.C. Steinhauer, Phys. Plasmas 18, 070501 (2011).
  • [3] S.V. Ryzhkov, Plasma Phys. Rep. 37, 1075 (2011).
  • [4] M.W. Binderbauer, H.Y. Guo, M. Tuszewski, S. Putvinski, L. Sevier et al., Phys. Rev. Lett. 105, 045003 (2010).
  • [5] T. Asai, Ts. Takahashi, J. Sekiguchi, D. Kobayashi, S. Okada et al., Nucl. Fusion 59, 056024 (2019).
  • [6] H. Guo, M. Binderbauer, D. Barnes, S. Putvinski, N. Rostoker et al., Phys. Plasmas 18, 056110 (2011).
  • [7] Y. Mok, D. Barnes and S. Dettrick, Bull. Am. Phys. Soc. 55, GP9.97 (2010).
  • [8] M. Onofri, P. Yushmanov, S. Dettrick, D. Barnes et al., Phys. Plasmas 24, 092518 (2017).
  • [9] F. Tanaka, T. Asai, J. Sekiguchi, Ts. Takahashi, J. Ishiwata et al., Plasma Fusion Res. 13, 3402098 (2018).
  • [10] Y. Matsuzawa, T. Asai, Ts. Takahashi and T. Takahashi, Phys. Plasmas 15, 082504 (2008).