Plasma and Fusion Research

Volume 15, 1402072 (2020)

Regular Articles

Transient Electron Thermal Transport Analysis Accounting Oblique Electron Cyclotron Resonance Heating Injection to Magnetic Field Line
Tatsuya KOBAYASHI1,2), Ryoma YANAI1), Toru Ii TSUJIMURA1), Tokihiko TOKUZAWA1,2), Yasuo YOSHIMURA1), Katsumi IDA1) and the LHD Experiment Group
National Institute for Fusion Science, National Institutes of Natural Sciences, Toki 509-5292, Japan
The Graduate University for Advanced Studies, SOKENDAI, Toki 509-5292, Japan
(Received 12 July 2020 / Accepted 27 August 2020 / Published 12 October 2020)


In response to recent upgrade of the raytracing code for the electron cyclotron resonance heating (ECH) in LHD, transient electron thermal transport is reanalyzed. The upgraded code LHDGauss-U takes into account the oblique injection of the ECH ray to magnetic field line. The obtained results show reduced transport hysteresis widths by up to ∼ 20% where the heating absorption is less significant, but qualitative features of the transport hysteresis reported in previous studies are found to be preserved.


thermal transport, turbulence, modulation ECH, transport hysteresis, isotope effect

DOI: 10.1585/pfr.15.1402072


  • [1] N.J. Lopes Cardozo, Plasma Phys. Control. Fusion 37, 799 (1995).
  • [2] T.C. Luce, C.C. Petty and J.C.M. De Haas, Phys. Rev. Lett. 68, 52 (1992).
  • [3] P. Mantica, G. Gorini, G.M.D. Hogeweij, N.J. Lopes Cardozo and A.M.R. Schilham, Phys. Rev. Lett. 85, 4534 (2000).
  • [4] P. Mantica, F. Ryter, C. Capuano, H.U. Fahrbach, F. Leuterer, W. Suttrop, J. Weiland and ASDEX-Upgrade Team, Plasma Phys. Control. Fusion 48, 385 (2006).
  • [5] S.D. Song, X.L. Zou, G. Giruzzi, W.W. Xiao, X.T. Ding, B.J. Ding, J.L. Ségui, D. Elbèze, F. Clairet, C. Fenzi et al., Nucl. Fusion 52, 033006 (2012).
  • [6] F. Ryter, G. Tardini, F. De Luca, H.-U. Fahrbach, F. Imbeaux, A. Jacchia, K.K. Kirov, F. Leuterer, P. Mantica, A.G. Peeters et al., Nucl. Fusion 43, 1396 (2003).
  • [7] J.C. DeBoo, C.C. Petty, A.E. White, K.H. Burrell, E.J. Doyle, J.C. Hillesheim, C. Holland, G.R. McKee, T.L. Rhodes, L. Schmitz et al., Phys. Plasmas 19, 082518 (2012).
  • [8] E.D. Fredrickson, K. McGuire, A. Cavallo, R. Budny, A. Janos, D. Monticello, Y. Nagayama, W. Park, G. Taylor and M.C. Zarnstorff, Phys. Rev. Lett. 65, 2869 (1990).
  • [9] M.W. Kissick, E.D. Fredrickson, J.D. Callen, C.E. Bush, Z. Chang, P.C. Efthimion, R.A. Hulse, D.K. Mansfield, H.K. Park, J.F. Schivell et al., Nucl. Fusion 34, 349 (1994).
  • [10] K.W. Gentle, W.L. Rowan, R.V. Bravenec, G. Cima, T.P. Crowley, H. Gasquet, G.A. Hallock, J. Heard, A. Ouroua, P.E. Phillips, D.W. Ross, P.M. Schoch and C. Watts, Phys. Rev. Lett. 74, 3620 (1995).
  • [11] U. Stroth, L. Giannone, H.J. Hartfuss, E.C.H. Group et al., Plasma Phys. Control. Fusion 38, 611 (1996).
  • [12] S. Inagaki, T. Tokuzawa, N. Tamura, S.-I. Itoh, T. Kobayashi, K. Ida, T. Shimozuma, S. Kubo, K. Tanaka, T. Ido et al., Nucl. Fusion 53, 113006 (2013).
  • [13] T. Kobayashi, K. Ida, T. Ii Tsujimura, S. Inagaki, T. Tokuzawa, H. Tsuchiya, N. Tamura, H. Igami, Y. Yoshimura, S.-I. Itoh et al., Nucl. Fusion 58, 126031 (2018).
  • [14] T. Kobayashi, K. Ida, K. Tanaka, M. Yoshinuma, T. Ii Tsujimura, S. Inagaki, T. Tokuzawa, H. Tsuchiya, N. Tamura, H. Igami et al., Nucl. Fusion 60, 076015 (2020).
  • [15] P. Rodriguez-Fernandez, A.E. White, N.T. Howard, B.A. Grierson, G.M. Staebler, J.E. Rice, X. Yuan, N.M. Cao, A.J. Creely, M.J. Greenwald et al., Phys. Rev. Lett. 120, 075001 (2018).
  • [16] P. Rodriguez-Fernandez, A.E. White, N.T. Howard, B.A. Grierson, L. Zeng, X. Yuan, G.M. Staebler, M.E. Austin, T. Odstrcil, T.L. Rhodes et al., Phys. Plasmas 26, 062503 (2019).
  • [17] C. Angioni, E. Fable, F. Ryter, P. Rodriguez-Fernandez, T. Pütterich et al., Nucl. Fusion 59, 106007 (2019).
  • [18] S.-I. Itoh and K. Itoh, Sci. Rep. 2, 860 (2012).
  • [19] S.-I. Itoh, K. Itoh and S. Inagaki, Nucl. Fusion 57, 022003 (2016).
  • [20] T. Ii Tsujimura, S. Kubo, H. Takahashi, R. Makino, R. Seki, Y. Yoshimura, H. Igami, T. Shimozuma, K. Ida, C. Suzuki et al., Nucl. Fusion 55, 123019 (2015).
  • [21] F. Volpe, Phys. Plasmas 14, 122105 (2007).