[Table of Contents]

Plasma and Fusion Research

Volume 5, S2087 (2010)

Regular Articles

Production of Sub-MeV Positive Gold Ion Beams with Various Gas Targets to Improve the Tandem Accelerator of the LHD-HIBP
Akira TANIIKE, Takeshi IDO1), Masaki NISHIURA1), Akihiro SHIMIZU1), Yuichi FURUYAMA and Akira KITAMURA
Graduate School of Maritime Sciences, Kobe University, Kobe 658-0022, Japan
National Institute for Fusion Science, Toki 509-5292, Japan
(Received 8 December 2009 / Accepted 30 March 2010 / Published 10 December 2010)


To expand the application range of heavy ion beam probe measurement in the Large Helical Device (LHD), it is important to increase the probing beam current. The current can be increased by improving the charge exchange efficiency in a gas cell. Experiments were conducted on a tandem accelerator at Kobe University, 5SDH-2, which allows various experimental conditions such as gas species, gas pressure, and beam energy to be selected. Initially, the gas thickness was determined by a beam attenuation method with a He+ ion beam. Next, the dependence of the positive beam current on the gas thickness was measured. The ionic charge fraction of the accelerated beam was measured and compared with the value calculated using the ionization cross section calculated in [M. Nishiura et al., NIFS Report, NIFS-884 (2008)]. The dependence of the Au+ fraction on the target gas thickness shows good qualitative agreement with the experimental value. However, the cross sections obtained experimentally are several times larger than those calculated.


Au− ion beam, gas cell, ionization, tandem accelerator, HIBP, LHD

DOI: 10.1585/pfr.5.S2087


  • [1] T. Ido et al., Rev. Sci. Instrum. 77, 10F523 (2006).
  • [2] M. Nishiura et al., Rev. Sci. Instrum. 79, 02C713 (2008).
  • [3] M. E. Rudd et al., Phys. Rev. A 32, 2 (1985).
  • [4] M. Nishiura et al., NIFS Report, NIFS-884 (2008).
  • [5] A. Taniike et al., Fusion Eng. Des. 34-45, 675 (1997).
  • [6] M. M. Sant' Anna et al., Plasma Phys. Control. Fusion 51, 045007 (2009).

This paper may be cited as follows:

Akira TANIIKE, Takeshi IDO, Masaki NISHIURA, Akihiro SHIMIZU, Yuichi FURUYAMA and Akira KITAMURA, Plasma Fusion Res. 5, S2087 (2010).