[Table of Contents]

Plasma and Fusion Research

Volume 5, S1045 (2010)

Regular Articles

Measurement of Edge Plasma Heat Flux in Heliotron J Using a Thermal Probe
Hiroto MATSUURA, Ken NAKANO, Katsuyuki HOSAKA1), Kenichi NAGAOKA2), Takashi MUTOH2), Hiroyuki OKADA3), Shinji KOBAYASHI3), Tohru MIZUUCHI3), Katsumi KONDO2) and Fumimichi SANO3)
Graduate School of Engineering, Osaka Prefecture University, Osaka 599-8531, Japan
Graduate School of Energy Science, Kyoto University, Uji 611-0011, Japan
National Institute for Fusion Science, Gifu 509-5292, Japan
Institute of Advanced Energy, Kyoto University, Uji 611-0011, Japan
(Received 8 January 2009 / Accepted 17 September 2009 / Published 26 March 2010)


Direct measurement of divertor heat flux is an important task. However, heat flux calibration is often difficult because heat diffusion in sensors takes longer than the discharge duration of present experiments. In this paper, using an unsteady heat conduction model, the heat flux in the Heliotron J edge plasma is measured for the first time. The obtained heat flux value, although it is time averaged, is positively correlated with plasma heating power, more precisely, with plasma internal energy. The angular distribution of heat flux around the probe axis shows a profile shape similar to previously reported probe current distributions.


Thermal probe, Divertor, Heliotron J, Heat flux, Heat conduction

DOI: 10.1585/pfr.5.S1045


  • [1] T. Lunt et al., Proc. 32nd EPS Conf. on Plasma Phys., P1005, Tarragona, Spain (2005).
  • [2] E. Stamate et al., Appl. Phys. Lett. 80, 3066 (2002).
  • [3] H. Matsuura et al., Contrib. Plasma Phys. 46, 406 (2006).
  • [4] K. Kurihara et al., Plasma Fusion Res. 2, S1082 (2007).
  • [5] H. Matsuura et al., Proc. 2nd IFHT., Tokyo, Japan 93 (2004).
  • [6] M. Kočan et al., Plasma Phys. Control. Fusion. 50, 125009 (2008).
  • [7] T. Obiki et al., Nucl. Fusion 41, 833 (2001).
  • [8] F. Sano et al., Nucl. Fusion 45, 1557 (2005).
  • [9] K. Nagaoka et al., Plasma Fusion Res. 2, S1092 (2007).
  • [10] Koch et al., J. Nucl. Mater. 337-339, 211 (2005).

This paper may be cited as follows:

Hiroto MATSUURA, Ken NAKANO, Katsuyuki HOSAKA, Kenichi NAGAOKA, Takashi MUTOH, Hiroyuki OKADA, Shinji KOBAYASHI, Tohru MIZUUCHI, Katsumi KONDO and Fumimichi SANO, Plasma Fusion Res. 5, S1045 (2010).