[Table of Contents]

Plasma and Fusion Research

Volume 5, S1043 (2010)

Regular Articles

Multi-Channel Neutron Emission and Triton Burn-up Measurement on JT-60U Using Digital Signal Processors
Keiichi ISHII, Kouji SHINOHARA1), Masao ISHIKAWA1), Toshio OKUJI2), Mamoru BABA2), Mitsutaka ISOBE3), Sumio KITAJIMA and Mamiko SASAO
Department of Quantum Science and Energy Engineering, Tohoku University, Sendai 980-8579, Japan
Japan Atomic Energy Agency, 801-1 Mukoyama, Naka 311-0193, Japan
Cyclotron and Radioisotope Center, Tohoku University, Sendai 980-8578, Japan
National Institute for Fusion Science, 322-6 Oroshi-cho, Toki 509-5292, Japan
(Received 9 January 2009 / Accepted 8 July 2009 / Published 26 March 2010)


In JT-60U, the multi-channel neutron profile monitor measures the line-integrated neutron emission. A digital signal processing (DSP) system was applied to all neutron detectors in the neutron profile monitor. A new 2D mapping method for DSP data analysis was developed to discriminate neutrons from γ-rays. The combination of DSP and the 2D map enabled the simultaneous measurement of DD and DT neutrons with one detector. The time evolutions of DD and of DT neutrons showed different responses to the ITB formation, depending on the viewing chord.


JT-60U, neutron diagnostics, Digital signal Processors, triton burn-up

DOI: 10.1585/pfr.5.S1043


  • [1] M. Sasao et al., Fusion Sci. Tech. 53, 604 (2008).
  • [2] M. Ishikawa, T. Nishitani, A. Morioka, M. Takechi et al., Rev. Sci. Instrum. 73, 4237 (2002).
  • [3] M. Ishikawa, T. Itoga, T. Okuji, M. Nakhostin, K. Shinohara et al., Rev. Sci. Instrum. 77, 10E706 (2006).
  • [4] M. Ishikawa, M. Takechi, K. Shinohara, C. Z. Cheng et al., Nucl. Fusion 47, 849 (2007).
  • [5] T. Itoga, M. Ishikawa, M. Baba, T. Okuji, T. Onishi et al., Radiat. Prot. Dosimetry 126, 380 (2007).
  • [6] K. Shinohara, T. Okuji, M. Ishikawa, M. Baba and T. Itoga, Rev. Sci. Instrum. 79, 10E509 (2008).
  • [7] W.W. Heidbrink and G.J. Sadler, Nucl. Fusion 34, 535 (1994).

This paper may be cited as follows:

Keiichi ISHII, Kouji SHINOHARA, Masao ISHIKAWA, Toshio OKUJI, Mamoru BABA, Mitsutaka ISOBE, Sumio KITAJIMA and Mamiko SASAO, Plasma Fusion Res. 5, S1043 (2010).