[Table of Contents]

Plasma and Fusion Research

Volume 5, 043 (2010)

Rapid Communications

Real-Time Control of Beam Trajectories Using Digital Signal Processor for the Heavy Ion Beam Probe on the Large Helical Device
Shigetoshi NAKAMURA1), Akihiro SHIMIZU2), Takeshi IDO2), Kazuo TOI1,2), Masaki NISHIURA2) and LHD Experiment Group2)
Department of Energy Science and Engineering, Nagoya University, Nagoya 464-8603, Japan
National Institute for Fusion Science, 322-6 Oroshi-cho, Toki 509-5292, Japan
(Received 24 May 2010 / Accepted 3 September 2010 / Published 10 November 2010)


A real-time control system using a digital signal processor (DSP) was developed to control ion-beam trajectories of a heavy ion beam probe (HIBP) on the Large Helical Device (LHD). The electrostatic potential during temporal evolution of the magnetic field structure by a large plasma current was successfully measured with the help of this system for the first time. It has been demonstrated that the probe beam can be detected even in a plasma having a ∼120 kA plasma current at the toroidal field of 1.3 T using the control system, while the beam is substantially lost by only ∼40 kA current before arriving at the detector plate in the case without control. However, this system is unstable during operations when the probe beam is swept in time across the plasma cross section to obtain the time evolution of the potential profile. It is caused by a nonlinear character of the system due to the finite beam size.


heavy ion beam probe, digital signal processor, plasma current, Nyquist stability criterion

DOI: 10.1585/pfr.5.043


  • [1] F.C. Jobes, R.L. Hickok et al., Nucl. Fusion 10, 195 (1970).
  • [2] T. Ido et al., Rev. Sci. Instrum. 77, 10F523 (2006).
  • [3] M. Toyoda et al., IEEJ Transactions on Fundamentals and Materials 123, 285 (2003), in Japanese.
  • [4] B.B. Carvalho et al., Rev. Sci. Instrum. 74, 1799 (2003).
  • [5] A.V. Melnikov et al., Rev. Sci. Instrum. 66, 317 (1995).
  • [6] D.R. Demers et al., Czech. J. Phys. 51, 1065 (2001).

This paper may be cited as follows:

Shigetoshi NAKAMURA, Akihiro SHIMIZU, Takeshi IDO, Kazuo TOI, Masaki NISHIURA and LHD Experiment Group, Plasma Fusion Res. 5, 043 (2010).