[Table of Contents]

Plasma and Fusion Research

Volume 5, 014 (2010)

Rapid Communications

Monte-Carlo Study Based on Real Coordinates for Perpendicularly Injected High-Energy Ions in the LHD High-Beta Plasma
Ryosuke SEKI, Yutaka MATSUMOTO, Yasuhiro SUZUKI1), Kiyomasa WATANABE1), Kiyotaka HAMAMATSU2) and Masafumi ITAGAKI
Graduate School of Engineering, Hokkaido University, Sapporo 060-8628, Japan
National Institute for Fusion Science, Toki 509-5292, Japan
Japan Atomic Energy Agency, Naka 311-0193, Japan
(Received 4 November 2009 / Accepted 28 December 2009 / Published 7 May 2010)


We present a study of ions produced by the perpendicular neutral beam in the high-beta plasma of Large Helical Device (LHD) that uses the Monte-Carlo code based on orbit following in real coordinates with Coulomb collisions. For no neutrals outside the plasma, the results indicate that there are remarkable differences in the distribution functions that depend on whether the loss boundary is set on the vacuum vessel wall or on the last closed flux surface (LCFS). Also, for finite neutral density nH = 1018 m−3, we find that the minor radial profile of the distribution function slightly differs from that for the infinite neutral density case, which corresponds to the loss boundary being set at the LCFS.


re-entering particle, LHD, perpendicular neutral beam, charge exchange loss, Monte-Carlo simulation

DOI: 10.1585/pfr.5.014


  • [1] K.Y. Watanave et al., in Proc. of ITC-17 and ISWS-16 Toki I-13 (2007).
  • [2] W.A. Cooper et al., Fusion Sci. Technol. 50, 245 (2006).
  • [3] R. Seki et al., submitted to Plasma Fusion Res. (2009).
  • [4] K. Hamamatsu et al., Plasma Phys. Control. Fusion 49, 1955 (2007).
  • [5] R.H. Fowler et al., Nucl. Fusion 30, 997 (1990).
  • [6] K. Hanatani and F.-P. Penningsfeld, Nucl. Fusion 32, 1769 (1992).
  • [7] R.J. Goldston et al., J. Comput. Phys. 46, 61 (1981).
  • [8] R. Seki et al., Plasma Fusion Res. 3, 016 (2008).
  • [9] K. Harafuji et al., J. Comput. Phys. 81, 169 (1989).

This paper may be cited as follows:

Ryosuke SEKI, Yutaka MATSUMOTO, Yasuhiro SUZUKI, Kiyomasa WATANABE, Kiyotaka HAMAMATSU and Masafumi ITAGAKI, Plasma Fusion Res. 5, 014 (2010).