[Table of Contents]

Plasma and Fusion Research

Volume 3, S1058 (2008)

Regular Articles

Time Evolution of the Rotational Transform Profile in Current-Carrying LHD Plasmas
Yuji NAKAMURA, Kiyomasa WATANABE1), Yoshiro NARUSHIMA1), Katsumi IDA1), Mikiro YOSHINUMA1), Satoru SAKAKIBARA1), Hisamichi FUNABA1), Kazuo KAWAHATA1), Masayuki YOKOYAMA1), Noriyoshi NAKAJIMA1) and Atsushi FUKUYAMA2)
Graduate School of Energy Science, Kyoto University, Gokasho, Uji, Kyoto 611-0011, Japan
National Institute for Fusion Science, 322-6 Oroshi-cho, Toki, Gifu 509-5292, Japan
Graduate School of Engineering, Kyoto University, Yoshida, Kyoto, Kyoto 606-8501, Japan
(Received 16 November 2007 / Accepted 19 March 2008 / Published 1 August 2008)


Numerical analysis is performed for a low beta neutral beam heated plasma and a superdense core plasma in the Large Helical Device (LHD) to investigate the time evolution of the rotational transform profile, which is calculated consistently with the three-dimensional magnetohydrodynamics equilibrium. Although there is a considerable amount of noninductive current flow, such as the bootstrap and Ohkawa currents, the inductive current component prevents a rapid change of the rotational transform profile in these plasmas.


stellarator/heliotron, Large Helical Device, net plasma current, rotational transform, bootstrap current, Ohkawa current, inductive current

DOI: 10.1585/pfr.3.S1058


  • [1] Yuji Nakamura et al., Fusion Sci. Technol. 50, 457 (2006).
  • [2] M. Sato et al., submitted to Plasma Fusion Res.
  • [3] Yuji Nakamura et al., Proc. of 21th IAEA Fusion Energy Conf. (Chengdu, China, 2006) IAEA-CN-149/TH/P7-1.
  • [4] S.P. Hirshman and D.J. Sigmar, Nucl. Fusion 21, 1079 (1981).
  • [5] S.P. Hirshman, W.I. van Rij and P. Merkel, Comput. Phys. Commun. 43, 143 (1986).
  • [6] P.I. Strand and W.A. Houlberg, Phys. Plasma 8, 2782 (2005).
  • [7] K.Y. Watanabe et al., J. Plasma Fusion Res. Ser. 5, 124 (2002).
  • [8] T. Morisaki et al., Phys. Plasma 14, 056113 (2007).

This paper may be cited as follows:

Yuji NAKAMURA, Kiyomasa WATANABE, Yoshiro NARUSHIMA, Katsumi IDA, Mikiro YOSHINUMA, Satoru SAKAKIBARA, Hisamichi FUNABA, Kazuo KAWAHATA, Masayuki YOKOYAMA, Noriyoshi NAKAJIMA and Atsushi FUKUYAMA, Plasma Fusion Res. 3, S1058 (2008).