[Table of Contents]

Plasma and Fusion Research

Volume 3, S1028 (2008)

Regular Articles

Density Control by Second Harmonic X-Mode ECRH in LHD
Shin KUBO, Takashi SHIMOZUMA, Kenji TANAKA, Teruo SAITO1), Yoshinori TATEMATSU1), Yasuo YOSHIMURA, Hiroe IGAMI, Takashi NOTAKE1), Shigeru INAGAKI2), Naoki TAMURA and LHD Experimental Group
National Institute for Fusion Science, Toki 509-5292, Japan
Research Center for Development of FIR Region, Fukui University, Fukui 910-8507, Japan
Research Institute of Applied Mechanics, Kyushu University, Kasuga 816-8580, Japan
(Received 21 November 2007 / Accepted 27 March 2008 / Published 4 August 2008)


Density clamping or pump-out phenomena is observed both in tokamaks and helical systems during additional heating, particularly high power density heating as electron cyclotron resonance heating (ECRH). Enhanced electron convective flux induced by a perpendicular acceleration of electrons is one of the candidates of the mechanism of these phenomena. The mechanism of the enhancement of the electron flux is investigated experimentally by comparing the density profile evolutions due to second harmonic X (X2) mode ECRH at the ripple top and bottom. The result suggests that ECRH-induced electron flux is one of the dominant mechanisms of density clamping, which can be used as a powerful tool for controlling the particles and the heat transport.


ECRH, density pump out, density control, direct loss, radial electric field

DOI: 10.1585/pfr.3.S1028


  • [1] K. Itoh et al., J. Phys. Soc. Japan 58, 482 (1989).
  • [2] H. Sanuki et al., Phys. Fluids B2, 2155 (1990).
  • [3] H. Idei et al., Fusion Eng. Des. 26, 167 (1995).
  • [4] C. Angioni et al., Nuclear Fusion 44, 167 (2004).
  • [5] S. Kubo et al., J. Plasma Fusion Res. SERIES 5, 584 (2002).

This paper may be cited as follows:

Shin KUBO, Takashi SHIMOZUMA, Kenji TANAKA, Teruo SAITO, Yoshinori TATEMATSU, Yasuo YOSHIMURA, Hiroe IGAMI, Takashi NOTAKE, Shigeru INAGAKI, Naoki TAMURA and LHD Experimental Group, Plasma Fusion Res. 3, S1028 (2008).