Plasma and Fusion Research

Volume 17, 1403050 (2022)

Regular Articles

Characteristics of Density and Temperature Fluctuation in Fusion Edge Plasma and Implication on Scrape off Layer Width
Shimpei ARAI and Yusuke KOSUGA1)
Interdisciplinary Graduate School of Engineering Sciences, Kyushu University, Kasuga, Fukuoka 816-8580, Japan
Research Institute for Applied Mechanics, Kyushu University, Kasuga 816-8580, Japan
(Received 16 February 2022 / Accepted 28 March 2022 / Published 13 May 2022)


In this study, in order to evaluate the SOL width of both density and temperature, we analyze Hasegawa-Wakatani model which includes the temperature fluctuations. Different instability regimes, i.e. drift waves and linearly unstable convective cells are studied. It is shown that convective cells are favorable in terms of the heat load reduction on the divertor. Implications on future devices, such as JT-60 SA, ITER, etc, are discussed.


SOL, turbulence, instability, drift wave, convective cell, adiabatic electron, hydrodynamic electron

DOI: 10.1585/pfr.17.1403050


  • [1] A. Loarte, B. Lipschultz, A.S. Kukushkin, G.F. Matthews, P.C. Stangeby, N. Asakura, G.F. Counsell, G. Federici, A. Kallenbach, K. Krieger, A. Mahdavi, V. Philipps, D. Reiter, J. Roth, J. Strachan, D. Whyte, R. Doerner, T. Eich, W. Fundamenski, A. Herrmann, M. Fenstermacher, P. Ghendrih, M. Groth, A. Kirschner, S. Konoshima, B. LaBombard, P. Lang, A.W. Leonard, P. Monier-Garbet, R. Neu, H. Pacher, R. Pegourie, R.A. Pitts, S. Takamura, J. Terry, E. Tsitrone and the ITPA Scrape-off Layer and Divertor Physics Topical Group, Nucl. Fusion 47, S203 (2007).
  • [2] K. Hoshino, J. Plasma Fusion Res. 92, No.12, 882 (2016).
  • [3] M.V. Umansky, T.D. Rognlien, D.D. Ryutov and P.B. Snyder, Contrib. Plasma Phys. 50, No.3-5, 350 (2010).
  • [4] P.C. Stangeby, The Plasma Boundary of Magnetic Fusion Devices (Institute of Physics, Bristol, 2000).
  • [5] R.J. Goldston, Nucl. Fusion 52, 013009 (2012).
  • [6] X.Q. Xu, N.M. Li, Z.Y. Li, B. Chen, T.Y. Xia, T.F. Tang, B. Zhu and V.S. Chan, Nucl. Fusion 59, 126039 (2017).
  • [7] X. Garbet, C. Fenzi, H. Capes, P. Devynck and G. Antar, Phys. Plasmas 6, 3955 (1999).
  • [8] Y. Kosuga, S.-I. Itoh and K. Itoh, Contrib. Plasma Phys. 56, No.6-8, 511 (2016).
  • [9] J.R. Myra, D.A. D'Ippolito and D.A. Russell, Phys. Plasmas 22, 042516 (2015).
  • [10] Y. Kosuga, F. Kin and M. Sasaki, Contrib. Plasma Phys. 60, e201900141 (2020).
  • [11] C.S. Chang, S. Ku, A. Loarte, V. Parail, F. Köchl, M. Romanelli, R. Maingi, J.-W. Ahn, T. Gray, J. Hughes, B. LaBombard, T. Leonard, M. Makowski and J. Terry, Nucl. Fusion 57, 116023 (2017).
  • [12] N. Ohno, J. Plasma Fusion Res. 82, No.4, 205 (2006).
  • [13] S.-I. Itoh, Y. Kosuga, T. Kobayashi, M. Sasaki and K. Itoh, J. Plasma Fusion Res. 96, No.5, 225 (2020).
  • [14] X. Garbet, L. Garzotti, P. Mantica, H. Nordman, M. Valovic, H. Weisen and C. Angioni, Phys. Rev. Lett. 91, 035001 (2003).
  • [15] P.H. Diamond, Y. Kosuga, Ö.D. Gürcan, C.J. McDevitt, T.S. Hahm, N. Fedorczak, J.E. Rice, W.X. Wang, S. Ku, J.M. Kwon, G. Dif-Pradalier, J. Abiteboul, L. Wang, W.H. Ko, Y.J. Shi, K. Ida, W. Solomon, H. Jhang, S.S. Kim, S. Yi, S.H. Ko, Y. Sarazin, R. Singh and C.S. Chang, Nucl. Fusion 53, 104019 (2013).
  • [16] Y. Kosuga, S-I. Itoh and K. Itoh, Plasma Fusion Res. 10, 3401024 (2015).
  • [17] S. Inagaki, T. Kobayashi, Y. Kosuga, S.-I. Itoh, T. Mitsuzono, Y. Nagashima, H. Arakawa, T. Yamada, Y. Miwa, N. Kasuya, M. Sasaki, M. Lesur, A. Fujisawa and K. Itoh, Scientific Reports 6, 22189 (2016).
  • [18] A. Hasegawa and M. Wakatani, Phys. Rev. Lett. 50, 682 (1983).
  • [19] S.I. Braginskii, Rev. Plasma Phys. 1, 205 (1965).
  • [20] A. Zeiler, J.F. Drake and B. Rogers, Phys. Plasmas 4, 2134 (1997).
  • [21] S.J. Camargo, D. Biskamp and B.D. Scott, Phys. Plasmas 2, No.1, 48 (1995).
  • [22] Y. Kawachi, S. Inagaki, M. Sasaki, Y. Kosuga, T. Yamada, Y. Nagashima, C. Moom, N. Kasuya and A. Fujisawa, Plasma Fusion Res. 16, 1202081 (2021).
  • [23] Y. Kosuga, Phys. Plasmas 24, 122305 (2017).
  • [24] Y. Kosuga, S.-I. Itoh and K. Itoh, Phys. Plasmas 24, 032304 (2017).
  • [25] I.H. Hutchinson, R. Boivin, F. Bombarda, P. Bonoli, S. Fairfax, C. Fiore, J. Goetz, S. Golovato, R. Granetz, M. Greenwald, S. Horne, A. Hubbard, J. Irby, B. LaBombard, B. Lipschultz, E. Marmar, G. McCracken, M. Porkolab, J. Rice, J. Snipes, Y. Takase, J. Terry, S. Wolfe, C. Christensen, D. Garnier, M. Graf, T. Hsu, T. Luke, M. May, A. Niemczewski, G. Tinios, J. Schachter and J. Urbahn, Phys. Plasmas 1, 1511 (1994).
  • [26] J.L. Luxon, Nucl. Fusion 42, 614 (2002).
  • [27] K. Yoshida, K. Tsuchiya, K. Kizu, H. Murakami, K. Kamiya, M. Peyrot and P. Barabaschi, J. Plasma Fusion Res. SERIES 9, 214 (2010).
  • [28] National Institutes for Quantum Science and Technology,
  • [29] Y. Kosuga and D. Aoki, Plasma Phys. Control. Fusion 62, 105002 (2020).