[Table of Contents]

Plasma and Fusion Research

Volume 6, 2401059 (2011)

Regular Articles

Numerical Investigation on Accuracy Improvement of Permanent Magnet Method for Measuring jC in High-Temperature Superconducting Film
Teruou TAKAYAMA, Atsushi KAMITANI, Taku ITOH1) and Hiroaki NAKAMURA2)
Yamagata University, Yamagata 992-8510, Japan
Seikei University, 3-3-1 Kichijoji-Kitamachi, Musashino-shi, Tokyo 180-8633, Japan
National Institute for Fusion Science, Gifu 509-5292, Japan
(Received 7 December 2010 / Accepted 20 January 2011 / Published 1 July 2011)


Possibility of the accuracy improvement in the permanent magnet method for measuring the critical current density of a high-temperature superconducting (HTS) thin film has been investigated numerically. To this end, a numerical code has been developed for analyzing the shielding current density in an HTS sample. By using the code, the permanent magnet method has been reproduced numerically. The results of computations show that, by using the magnet strength BF as large as possible, the high accuracy can be assured with little effort. Furthermore, in order to improve the measurement accuracy of the critical current density near the film edge, it is necessary to use the magnet with the smallest radius.


current measurement, high-temperature superconductor, simulation, thin film

DOI: 10.1585/pfr.6.2401059


  • [1] J.H. Claassen, M.E. Reeves and R.J. Soulen, Jr., Rev. Sci. Instrum. 62, 996 (1991).
  • [2] S. Ohshima, K. Takeishi, A. Saito, M. Mukaida, Y. Takano, T. Nakamura, I. Suzuki and M. Yokoo, IEEE Trans. Appl. Supercond. 15, 2911 (2005).
  • [3] A. Saito, K. Takeishi, Y. Takano, T. Nakamura, M. Yokoo, M. Mukaida, S. Hirano and S. Ohshima, Physica C 426, 1122 (2005).
  • [4] S. Ikuno, T. Takayama, A. Kamitani, K. Takeishi, A. Saito and S. Ohshima, IEEE Trans. Appl. Supercond. 19, 3750 (2009).
  • [5] T. Takayama, S. Ikuno and A. Kamitani, Physica C 470, 1354 (2010).
  • [6] A. Kamitani and S. Ohshima, IEICE Trans. Electron. E82-C, 766 (1999).

This paper may be cited as follows:

Teruou TAKAYAMA, Atsushi KAMITANI, Taku ITOH and Hiroaki NAKAMURA, Plasma Fusion Res. 6, 2401059 (2011).