Plasma and Fusion Research

Volume 17, 2403044 (2022)

Regular Articles

Electron and Proton Energy Loss via Rovibrational Excitation of Molecular Hydrogen in Fusion Detached Plasmas
Faculty of Engineering, Shinshu University, 4-17-1 Wakasato, Nagano 380-8553, Japan
(Received 10 January 2022 / Accepted 28 February 2022 / Published 6 June 2022)


Electron and proton energy-loss rate coefficients in a fusion detached plasma, formed through collisions with molecular hydrogen, are investigated using a rovibrationally resolved collisional-radiative model of molecular hydrogen [K. Sawada and M. Goto, Atoms 4, 29 (2016)]. The rovibrational population distribution of X1Σg+ in electrons and protons, both with a temperature of 1 eV and density of 1016 cm−3, is solved time-dependently with an initial 300 K Boltzmann distribution. Energy loss of electrons by rovibrational excitation in X1Σg+ is approximately one or two orders of magnitude larger than that by excitation to the triplet b3Σu+ state.


collisional-radiative model, molecular hydrogen, rate coefficient, vibrational, rotational, detached plasma, molecular assisted recombination

DOI: 10.1585/pfr.17.2403044


  • [1] K. Sawada and M. Goto, Atoms 4, 29 (2016).
  • [2] S.I. Krasheninnikov, A. Yu. Pigarov and D.J. Sigmar, Phys. Lett. A 214, 285 (1996).
  • [3] K. Hoshino, K. Shimizu, N. Asakura, T. Takizuka, M. Nakamura and K. Tobita, Contrib. Plasma Phys. 52, 550 (2012).
  • [4] K. Hoshino, K. Sawada, R. Idei, S. Tokunaga, N. Asakura, K. Shimizu and N. Ohno, Contrib. Plasma Phys. 56, 657 (2016).
  • [5] K. Sawada and T. Fujimoto, Phys. Rev. E 49, 5565 (1994).
  • [6] Fujimoto, Plasma Spectroscopy (The International Series of Monographs on Physics, 123, Oxford University Press, 2004).
  • [7] R. Celiberto, R.K. Janev, A. Laricchiuta, M. Capitelli, J.M. Wadehra and D.E. Atems, At. Data Nucl. Data Tables 77, 161 (2001).
  • [8] K. Sawada, H. Nakamura, S. Saito, G. Kawamura, M. Kobayashi, K. Haga, R. Migita, T. Sawada and M. Hasuo, Contrib. Plasma. Phys. e201900153 (2020).
  • [9] S. Saito, H. Nakamura, K. Sawada, G. Kawamura, M. Kobayashi and M. Hasuo, Contrib. Plasma Phys. e201900152 (2020).