[Table of Contents]

Plasma and Fusion Research

Volume 7, 2405065 (2012)

Regular Articles

Material Dependence on Plasma Shielding Induced by Laser Ablation
Takuya KONO, Akinori ISHIKAWA1), Seigo MISAKI, Atsushi SUNAHARA2), Satoshi TANAKA1), Toshinori YABUUCHI, Yoshi HIROOKA3) and Kazuo A TANAKA
Graduate School of Engineering, Osaka University, Suita, Osaka 565-0871, Japan
Department of Media Technology, Ritsumeikan University, Kusatsu, Shiga 525-8577, Japan
Institute for Laser Technology, 2-6 Yamadaoka, Suita, Osaka 565-0871, Japan
National Institute for Fusion Science, Toki, Gifu 509-5292, Japan
(Received 9 December 2011 / Accepted 28 March 2012 / Published 26 July 2012)


Plasma shielding is an important concept to study if the material damage could be suppressed with plasma layer properly prepared by absorbing the incoming plasma flux onto a divertor target in MFE or the first wall in IFE reactors. First experimental evidence of this effect is reported. Two plasma plumes (n ∼ 1012 /cm3, Te ∼ 1 eV) are created with two laser beams. The laser ablation plasma plumes are created at laser energy density up to 10 J/cm2 and are crossed each other. 12∼59% of the incoming plasma particles are shielded with the collisions of the other plasma plume. By observing the material dependence of colliding effects, the effect to plasma shielding is discussed.


plasma shielding, vapor shielding, laser ablation, plasma collision, IFE first wall, MFE divertor

DOI: 10.1585/pfr.7.2405065


  • [1] J.G. van der Laan, M. Akiba, A. Hassanein, M. Seki and V. Tanchuk, Fusion Eng. Des. 18, 135 (1991).
  • [2] A.M. Hassanein, G.L. Kulcinski and W.G. Wolfer, Nucl. Eng. Des./Fusion 1, 307 (1984).
  • [3] Y. Hirooka, K.A. Tanaka, H. Sato, K. Ishihara and A. Sunahara, J. Phys. Conf. Ser. 244, 032033 (2010).
  • [4] Y. Hirooka, T. Oishi, H. Sato and K.A. Tanaka, Fusion Sci. Technol. 60, 804 (2011).
  • [5] K.A. Tanaka, A. Hassanein, Y. Hirooka, T. Kono, S. Misaki, T. Ohishi, A. Sunahara and S. Tanaka, Fusion Sci. Technol. 60, 329 (2011).
  • [6] S. Misaki, A. Sunahara, T. Kono, T. Yabuuchi and K.A. Tanaka, APS-DPP, 53rd Ann. Meet., UP9.00090 (2011).
  • [7] T. Takizuka and H. Abe, J. Comput. Phys. 25, 205 (1977).
  • [8] Atomic Molecular Data Services, IAEA, http://www-amdis.iaea.org/FLYCHK/

This paper may be cited as follows:

Takuya KONO, Akinori ISHIKAWA, Seigo MISAKI, Atsushi SUNAHARA, Satoshi TANAKA, Toshinori YABUUCHI, Yoshi HIROOKA and Kazuo A TANAKA, Plasma Fusion Res. 7, 2405065 (2012).