[Table of Contents]

Plasma and Fusion Research

Volume 6, 2402024 (2011)

Regular Articles

The Present State of Investigations on Stellarators in Kharkov
Vladimir S. VOITSENYA, Anatoli I. LYSSOIVAN1), Vladimir E. MOISEENKO, Francisco CASTEJÓN2), Victor V. CHECHKIN, Dirk HARTMANN3), Carlos HIDALGO2), Raymond KOCH1), Valery K. PASHNEV, Yevgen D. VOLKOV, Vladimir TERESHIN, Igor E. GARKUSHA, U-2 M Team and U-3 M Team
Institute of Plasma Physics, NSC KIPT, Kharkov 61108, Ukraine
Laboratory for Plasma Physics - ERM/KMS, Brussels, Belgium
Laboratorio Nacional de Fusión Asociación Euratom/Ciemat, 28040 Madrid, Spain
Max-Planck-Institut für Plasmaphysik, EURATOM Assoziation, TI, D-17491, Greifswald, Germany
(Received 22 December 2010 / Accepted 18 March 2011 / Published 1 July 2011)


At present, two stellarator type fusion devices, Uragan-2 M and Uragan-3 M, are in operation in Kharkov. At the Uragan-3 M machine, investigations of the low-density low-collisional plasma are continued. L-H-mode-like transition is studied with particular attention to the mechanisms of its formation and impact on divertor flow behaviour. For a higher density plasma, a scenario of the RF Alfvén resonance heating in high k|| regime is realized both with continuous and pulsed gas injection. On Uragan-2 M the studies of RF wall conditioning are in progress. A new wall conditioning scheme which uses the high frequency slow wave is implemented.


torsatron, wall conditioning, RF heating, plasma confinement, L-H transition, divertor plasma flow

DOI: 10.1585/pfr.6.2402024


  • [1] V. E. Moiseenko et al., Plasma Physics Reports 35, 828 (2009).
  • [2] E. de la Cal and E. Gauthier, Plasma Phys. Control. Fusion 47, 197 (2005).
  • [3] V. V. Chechkin et al., Nucl. Fusion. 42, 192 (2002).
  • [4] V. V. Chechkin et al., Plasma Devices Ops. 16, 299 (2009).
  • [5] V. K. Pashnev et al., Problems of Atomic Science and Technology, Series “Plasma Physics” 6, 24 (2010).
  • [6] I. M. Pankratov et al., Contrib. Plasma Phys. 50, 520 (2010).
  • [7] G. S. Voronov et al., Plasma Phys. Control. Fusion 48, A303 (2006).
  • [8] S. Okamura et al., Iin Proceedings of the 2004 20th IAEA Fusion Energy Conf. (November 1-6, 2004, Vilamoura, Portugal), paper EX/8-5Ra.
  • [9] A. I. Lysoivan et al., Fusion Engineering and Design 26, 185 (1995).
  • [10] P. Ya. Burchenko et al., Visnyk KhNU, Ser. Phys. 2 (18), No.559, 52 (2002) (in Russian).
  • [11] V. E. Moiseenko et al., 37th EPS Conference on Plasma Phys. (June 21-25, 2010, Dublin, Ireland) ECA 34A, paper P-5.171.

This paper may be cited as follows:

Vladimir S. VOITSENYA, Anatoli I. LYSSOIVAN, Vladimir E. MOISEENKO, Francisco CASTEJÓN, Victor V. CHECHKIN, Dirk HARTMANN, Carlos HIDALGO, Raymond KOCH, Valery K. PASHNEV, Yevgen D. VOLKOV, Vladimir TERESHIN, Igor E. GARKUSHA, U-2 M Team and U-3 M Team, Plasma Fusion Res. 6, 2402024 (2011).