[Table of Contents]

Plasma and Fusion Research

Volume 1, 050 (2006)

Regular Articles

A New-Type Equilibrium of Flowing Plasma Dominated by the Hall Effect
Graduate School of Frontier Sciences, The University of Tokyo
(Received 15 July 2006 / Accepted 22 September 2006 / Published 21 November 2006)


New type of axisymmetric magnetohydrodynamic (MHD) equilibrium of toroidally flowing plasma, which cannot be found in the framework of the ideal MHD, emerges due to the Hall and toroidal effects. If either of these effects is neglected, only a conventional MHD-type equilibrium is obtained. Numerical solutions of both types are calculated in toroidal geometries to simulate the equilibrium states in the Ring Trap-1 device constructed at the University of Tokyo. Numerical analysis shows that when the toroidal flow is increased, the plasma shifts inward in the new-type equilibrium, while in the MHD type the outward shift occurs due to the centrifugal effect.


flowing plasma, axisymmetric MHD equilibrium, toroidal flow, Hall effect, internal conductor device, dipole magnetic field

DOI: 10.1585/pfr.1.050


  • [1] Z. Yoshida, Y. Ogawa, J. Morikawa, S. Watanabe, Y. Yano, S. Mizumaki, T. Tosaka, Y. Ohtani, A. Hayakawa and M. Shibui, Plasma Fusion Res. 1, 008 (2006).
  • [2] H. Saitoh, Z. Yoshida, C. Nakashima, H. Himura, J. Morikawa and M. Fukao, Phys. Rev. Lett. 92, 255005 (2004).
  • [3] H. Saitoh, Z. Yoshida, H. Himura, J. Morikawa and M. Fukao, Phys. Plasmas 11, 3331 (2004).
  • [4] J. Shiraishi, S. Ohsaki and Z. Yoshida, Phys. Plasmas 12, 092901 (2005).
  • [5] J. Kesner, L. Bromberg, D. Garnier and M.E. Mauel, in 17th IAEA Fusion Energy Conference, Paper No.IAEA-F1-CN-69-ICP/09 Yokohama, Japan (International Atomic Energy Agency, Vienna, 1998).
  • [6] S.M. Mahajan and Z. Yoshida, Phys. Rev. Lett. 81, 4863 (1998).
  • [7] Z. Yoshida and S.M. Mahajan, Phys. Rev. Lett. 88, 095001 (2002).
  • [8] S.M. Mahajan and Z. Yoshida, Phys. Plasmas 7, 635 (2000).
  • [9] M. Furukawa, Y. Nakamura, S. Hamaguchi and M. Wakatani, J. Plasma Fusion Res. 76, 937 (2000).
  • [10] P.J. Catto and S.I. Krasheninnikov, Phys. Lett. A 258, 153 (1999).
  • [11] S.I. Krasheninnikov, P.J. Catto and R.D. Hazeltine, Phys. Plasmas 7, 1831 (2000).
  • [12] G.N. Throumoulopoulos and H. Tasso, Phys. Plasmas 4, 1492 (1997).
  • [13] J.P. Goedbloed, Phys. Plasmas 11, L81 (2004).

This paper may be cited as follows:

Jun-ya SHIRAISHI, Masaru FURUKAWA and Zensho YOSHIDA, Plasma Fusion Res. 1, 050 (2006).