[Table of Contents]

Plasma and Fusion Research

Volume 1, 009 (2006)

Regular Articles

Assessment of Meander-Line Antenna Covered with Dielectric Material for LHW Heating
Hiroki MATSUNO, Shuichi TAKAMURA, Shun HOSOI1) and Noriyasu OHNO2)
Department of Energy Engineering and Science, Nagoya University
Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, Nagoya University
EcoTopia Science Institute, Nagoya University
(Received 8 December 2005 / Accepted 19 January 2006 / Published 9 March 2006)


A new analysis of meander-line type antenna with dielectric cover is presented and compared with experimental results. In the case of small research tokamaks for which the lower hybrid range of frequency is relatively low, a meander-line antenna with a strip-line structure would be preferable for LHW electron heating. When the antenna is installed in the vacuum chamber, it needs an insulating cover to protect it from plasma bombardment. The comparison between the analysis and experiments agree well if the thickness of the antenna conductor is sufficiently thin and there is no vacuum gap among the substrate, conductor, and cover. We found that a slow-wave antenna may be fabricated for LHW electron heating in the small tokamak HYBTOK-II under the driving frequency of, for example, 220 MHz.


lower hybrid wave, meander-line antenna, slow-wave structure, small tokamak, electron heating

DOI: 10.1585/pfr.1.009


  • [1] B.J. Ding, G.L. Kuang, J.F. Shan, G.S. Xu, M. Song et al., Plasma Phys. Control. Fusion 46, 1467 (2004).
  • [2] Jerald A. Weiss, IEEE Trans. Microwave Theory and Techniques MTT-22 12, 1194 (1974).
  • [3] T. Takahashi, S. Takamura and T. Okuda, J. Appl. Phys. 53, 6693 (1982).
  • [4] K. Ushikusa, S. Takamura and T. Okuda, Nucl. Fusion 24, 751 (1984).
  • [5] Y. Kikuchi, Y. Uesugi, S. Takamura and A.G. Elmov, Nucl. Fusion 44, S28 (2004) .
  • [6] S. Takamura, Y. Kikuchi, Y. Uesugi and M. Kobayashi, Nucl. Fusion 43, 393 (2003).

This paper may be cited as follows:

Hiroki MATSUNO, Shuichi TAKAMURA, Shun HOSOI and Noriyasu OHNO, Plasma Fusion Res. 1, 009 (2006).