Plasma and Fusion Research Volume 9, 3I (2014)

Preface

The 23rd International Toki Conference (ITC-23) on "Large-scale Simulation and Fusion Science research" was held in Toki through 18 to 21 November 2013, organized by the National Institute for Fusion Science, National Institutes of Natural Sciences. This was the twenty-third meeting of a series that originated in 1989, when the National Institute for Fusion Science was established. The main topic of the conference was the frontiers of simulation science in plasma and fusion research. It also covered the topics related to diagnostics, atomic process, fusion engineering, and astrophysical plasmas. The topics selected for the conference were as follows:

- 1. The Leading Edge of Large-scale Numerical Simulation
- 2. Magnetically-Confined Fusion Plasmas
- 3. Inertially-Confined Fusion Plasmas
- 4. Fusion Engineering and Fusion Reactor Concepts
- 5. Space and Astrophysical Plasmas
- 6. Basic Plasma Research and Plasma Applications
- 7. Imaging Science

This special issue of Plasma and Fusion Research (PFR) contains 83 regular articles and 1 overview article which were presented at the conference. These papers have been accepted for publication after being peer-reviewed through the processes administrated by the editors listed below:

Guest	Editors

Shinsuke SATAKE	(NIFS)	Chairperson	
Ritoku HORIUCHI	(NIFS)	Co-chairperson	
Hideo SUGAMA	(NIFS)	Co-chairperson	
Hideaki MIURA	(NIFS)		
Tomohiko WATANABE	(NIFS)		
Masayuki YOKOYAMA	(NIFS)		
Hiroaki OHTANI	(NIFS)		
Hiroaki NAKAMURA	(NIFS)		
Arimichi TAKAYAMA	(NIFS)	Akira SASAKI	(JAEA)
Teruya TANAKA	(NIFS)	Shin-ichi KITAZAWA	(JAEA)
Yoshimitsu HISHINUMA	(NIFS)	Hiroaki KURISHITA	(Tohoku Univ.)
Daiji KATOH	(NIFS)	Nobuaki OHNO	(Univ. Hyogo)
Takeshi IDO	(NIFS)	Hiroto MATSUURA	(Osaka Pref. Univ.)
Takashi SHIMOZUMA	(NIFS)	Mieko TOIDA	(Nagoya Univ.)
Shin KUBO	(NIFS)	Jiquan LI	(Kyoto Univ.)

PFR Regular Editors

Yasushi TODO (NIFS) Kiyohiko NISHIMURA (NIFS)

NIFS: National Institute for Fusion Science JAEA: Japan Atomic Energy Agency

Special thanks to the editorial members of Plasma and Fusion Research, especially to Professor Hitoki YONEDA (former PFR Editor-in-Chief), Yukiharu OHSAWA (PFR Chairperson of Editorial Board), and Arimichi TAKAYAMA, Ms. Keiko SUGIYAMA and Ms. Mari HOBO (PFR editorial office), for their help on editing and publication of this special issue.

Shinsuke Satake Chairperson of Guest Editor November 1, 2014