Plasma and Fusion Research Volume 2 (2007)

Preface

This special issue of *Plasma and Fusion Research* (PFR) contains invited and contributed papers presented at the 16th International Toki Conference on Advanced Imaging and Plasma Diagnostics. The meeting took place in Toki through 5–8 December 2006, and was organized by the National Institute for Fusion Science. This was the sixteenth meeting of a series that originated in 1989, when the National Institute for Fusion Science was established. The programme of the meeting covered advanced plasma diagnostics and imaging sciences in the field of plasma physics, astronomy, biology and medical imaging. The topics selected for the conference were

- (A) Advanced Imaging (Medical Imaging, Imaging for Biology, Astronomy, Atoms, Molecules and Materials)
- (B) Plasma Diagnostics (IR to Microwave, Visible to X-ray, Particle, Beam Diagnostics and Probes)
- (C) Imaging Technologies (Data Acquisition, Image Reconstruction and Tomography, Imaging Devices and Optics)

Three plenary papers and 41 invited and oral papers were presented in sessions devoted to the topics above and 142 contributed papers on the topics were presented in poster sessions. All papers have been peer-reviewed through processes administered by the conference organizing committee. The guest editors for this special issue of PFR were as follows

Katsumi Ida (NIFS, NINS, Japan) Chairperson

Mitsutoshi Aramaki (Nagoya University, Japan)

Seiji Ishiguro (NIFS, NINS, Japan)

Naofumi Iwama (Daido Institute of Technology, Japan)

Toru Iwao (Musashi Institute of Technology, Japan)

Shinichiro Kado (The University of Tokyo, Japan)

Ryusuke Kakigi (National Institute for Physiological Science, NINS, Japan)

Hiroshi Karoji (National Astronomical Observatory of Japan, NINS, Japan)

Isao Katanuma (University of Tsukuba, Japan)

Sumio Kitajima (Tohoku University, Japan)

Ryuji Kodama (National Institute for Basic Biology, NINS, Japan)

Atsushi Mase (KASTEC, Kyushu University, Japan)

Takashi Minami (NIFS, NINS, Japan)

Kazunobu Nagasaki (Kyoto University, Japan)

Kuniaki Nagayama (National Institute for Physiological Science, NINS, Japan)

Satoshi Ohdachi (NIFS, NINS, Japan)

Hiromi Okamoto (Institute for Molecular Science, NINS, Japan)

Byron Peterson (NIFS, NINS, Japan)

Heiji Sanuki (NIFS, NINS, Japan)

Kuninori Sato (NIFS, NINS, Japan)

Keisuke Shigemori (Osaka, University, Japan)

Eiichi Takahashi (Advanced Industrial Science and Technology, AIST, Japan)

Kazuo Toi (NIFS, NINS, Japan)

Yoshio Ueda (Osaka, University, Japan)

Takumi Yamamoto (Japan Atomic Energy Agency, Japan)

NINS: National Institute of Nature Sciences NIFS: National Institute for Fusion Science

I would like to thank Dr. R. Kanno (PFR Production Division) for his competent and timely guidance in the organization of this special issue.

Katsumi Ida Chairperson and Guest Editor Toki, 31 August 2007