Preface

The joint meeting of the 26th International Toki Conference (ITC-26) and the 11th Asia Plasma and Fusion Association Conference (APFA-11) on "New Era in Plasma and Fusion Research" was held in Toki through 5 to 8 December 2017, organized by the National Institute for Fusion Science. The International Toki Conference (ITC) is a topical meeting dedicated to specific subjects related to plasma and fusion science. Since the first conference in 1989, ITC meetings have been held annually. The Asia Plasma and Fusion Association (APFA) was organized by the academic societies and research laboratories related to plasma and nuclear fusion research in Japan, China, South Korea, and India. Biennial conferences have been held since 1998 to exchange information on mutual scientific interests, to strengthen friendships, to promote education of young scientists and engineers, and to contribute to the development of plasma science and fusion engineering. In recent years, several new experiments have started, and construction of new devices is going forward in the world. In particular, research activities in Asian countries are advancing. With this background, the joint conference of the 26th International Toki Conference was held to encourage the new era in plasma and fusion research. The topics selected for the conference were as follows:

Magnetically confined fusion research Theory and simulation research Laser plasma research Fusion engineering and technology development Reactor perspectives Plasma applications

This special issue of Plasma and Fusion Research (PFR) contains 76 regular articles and 2 overview articles which were presented at the conference. These papers have been accepted for publication after being peer-reviewed through the processes administrated by the editors listed below:

Guest Editors

Yutaka Kamada (QST), Chief Tsuyoshi Akiyama (NIFS) Motoshi Goto (NIFS) Atsushi Itoh (NIFS) Hideya Nakanishi (NIFS) Shin Nishimura (NIFS) Satoshi Ohdachi (NIFS) Makoto Sasaki (Kyushu Univ.) Chihiro Suzuki (NIFS) Hiromi Takahashi (NIFS) Masayuki Tokitani (NIFS) Masayuki Tokitani (NIFS) Shinji Yoshimura (NIFS)

Akira Ejiri (Univ. Tokyo) Takuya Goto (NIFS) Junichi Miyazawa (NIFS) Yoshiro Narushima (NIFS) Takeo Nishitani (NIFS) Tetsuo Ozaki (NIFS) Shinsuke Satake (NIFS) Yasuhiro Suzuki (NIFS) Manabu Takechi (QST) Juro Yagi (NIFS) Masayuki Yoshikawa (Tsukuba Univ.)

Akihiro Shimizu (NIFS), Secretariat

PFR Regular Editors

Katsumi Ida (NIFS)

We deeply appreciate the editorial members of Plasma and Fusion Research, and the PFR production division, for their help on editing and publication of this special issue.

Yutaka Kamada Guest Editor-in-Chief December 13, 2018